We are Eternal (that’s huge)

by Mrsethprice

This morning as I was checking the news on Flipboard the first two stories I read (saw) were exact opposites and it was, I don’t know the word, but I’ll try to express it here.

The first story that I saw was of a child lost to their family extremely early in life. The abruptness when it happened a few months ago hurt me to read and learn of and when I was reminded of it today the same feelings of loss and grief and frustration at our broken world were reignited. I can only pray for my friends in their loss and know that God is good but that doesn’t make it any less infuriating. It reminded me that we are all born broken in one way or another and that we are destined for a date with death and can’t stop it, none of us.

That is saddening.

The second one is a link to a quote from C.S. Lewis on Pintrest (read about that). It was not the full quote but I’ll give that to you here.

Nature is mortal; we shall outlive her. When all the suns and nebulae have passed away, each one of you will still be alive.

Reading that right after reading the story of a child passing away hours after birth was more than I was prepared to take today, probably any day. Both statements are equally true, equally crushing, equal in their sadness and glorious-ness. The ultimate wage of sin and the ultimate glory of God read in succession back to back.

I”m still not sure I can come up with the correct word for what I felt and continue to feel today.

Take time today and search your heart. Let the power of Christ fall on you and let him save you from despair if you haven’t yet. Please.

Quote accreditation – C. S. Lewis, “The Weight of Glory,” in The Weight of Glory: And Other Addresses (New York: HarperCollins, 1949/2001), 44.

