Kids Understand We Don’t: Generosity

by Mrsethprice

What is it about the innocence of children that makes the petty things that adults argue about seem insignificant in the overall scheme of things.

Here is the back story involved, it involves my son but this post is not intended to be a brag on my son but instead to brag on how children are as a whole. My son goes to a daycare and there are obviously many children there. Yesterday there was one that was without lunch. Her father had forgotten it in the rush, that we as parents know to well, to get everything together in time to get her dropped off and get himself to work. I’m not sure when it was realized that she didn’t have anything to eat but around lunch time is my understanding. They all sit and eat together as a community at our daycare and my son (without being asked) offered his food to her.

This blows my mind! Not that he would do that (well actually yes..that is it in part as he can get pretty selfish as we all can) but the fact that he saw a need and filled it. Too often in the world that we live in we act out of necessity instead of out of generosity. Let me try to put it into perspective by asking a few questions:

Do you offer to pray at church? Do you donate to the Salvation Army year-long? Do you really think about the starving children in Africa between the infomercials? Do you really give of yourself as often as Christ did?

I know I don’t and that’s sad. My wife told me that story and I thought of it all night. I truly learn so much from my son. Children have an untainted and un-jaded way of thinking and it blows my mind.

My sons frame of mind brings Luke 3:11 to mind

And he answered them, “Whoever has two tunics is to share with them who has none, and whoever has food is to do likewise.”

I have never taught my son to do this yet he knows it’s what’s required and the way it should be. We as adults would be mindful to follow by our children’s example. What would the world look like (especially around the holidays and in todays economic climate) if we gave more abundantly and acted less selfishly?

