I Am the 4%, Let’s Occupy the Church

by Mrsethprice

Hello again folks! It’s time for another gut wrencher (or my attempt at it).

In my church we are currently doing a study together as a church. In every service both old and young as well as Bible Study (Sunday School) everyone is studying the same thing and applying it as a collective congregation. I think this is great and something that hopefully continues!

This past week during worship though my Pastor said something that has eaten at me since he said it. The part of the study that we were doing is “Is the church still relevant [in today’s culture]”. I think it is but obviously I’m biased as I attend church. The stat that David through out was crazy though. Between young adults (18-28) only 4% are participants in church. This. Is. Crazy.

It’s also unacceptable. I don’t know if it speaks to the perception of Christians that are my age or the culture that we live in. I personally think that the church is extremely releveant in todays day and age. But if the youth of this nation can’t get their stuff straight it’s going to be a sad future.

What are your thoughts?

