Brunt of the Pain

by Mrsethprice

I’m not a huge fan of brushing my teeth and I don’t know many people that would line up to do it. I do it because I must, because if not I will look h0rrible and will be unable to eat. I will say this: I LOVE TO EAT! My son it seems is not exception..he is not a big fan of brushing his teeth. He fights it vehemently. Last night he was fighting against me to brush his teeth and rolled off the couch and slammed his arm into the coffee table.  He jumped up screaming and holding his arm and ran to his mother. That is not the problem though, we have all been hurt and we all run to a safe place.

The problem here is he was blaming his hurt on me. “Daddy hurt me..daddy did it…daddy hurt my arm”. Let me first stress that I didn’t do that before you go all CPS on me, I just happened to be closest to him. Here’s the thing though, as he began to blame me I began to accept the blame. I was willing to bear the shame and anguish if it would make him feel better. I would take it all if he would just stop crying and be ok. I was scared for his arm and my wife and I debated whether or not we should take him to the hospital.

This morning he woke up and he was fine.

Needless to say I couldn’t sleep well last  night and tossed and turned and had horrible dreams. It occurs to me this morning that this is how so many of us treat our relationships with God. Something, anything, bad happens to us in this world and we run to a safe place (away from God). We run to others, alcohol, sports, fill in the _____, but often not to God. Instead we say, “Why did this happen? God did it, God hurt me?” When in fact that’s not further from the truth. He just happened to be there and thus is convenient to be the one to be blamed for everything. Fear not though for He is willing to bear the brunt of the pain. He will bear it to save you from it. It has always been this way and will continue to be.

I was told by a few people that having children would open my eyes to how God relates to us and they were right.

I love you.

