The Way-back Machine

by Mrsethprice

Every day I feel older. As I meet more and more college students I realize that I am quickly distancing myself from them in world knowledge and cultural knowledge. This isn’t a bad thing it just….is.

I met someone the other day that had no clue what it meant for the computer to be “on the fritz”. He knew that he could use it in conversation but not it’s origin. When I grew up I was the channel changer in my household. We had a big old Zenith television with a turn style know, two actually. One knob adjusted the channels in a pale orange hue; the other know adjusted UHF and VHF distinctions. Again those same new college students will have no clue what those acronyms mean either. I can still bask in the glory of the day when my little brother was graduated to channel changer and I didn’t have to get up to mess with the rabbit ears or switch around one of the 4.3 channels that we had.

How about you? What’s the biggest thing that strikes you in a similar situation? A athlete that no one has ever heard of? Music? Literature.

Sound off!

