Painful Faith?

by Mrsethprice

Bread, Beer, Tortillas and cereal. What do they all have in common? Pain. Raw absolute pain. None of these products come easily and require massive amounts of force and manipulation to achieve the end result of something edible. They must all be crushed to be made new.

Think of that for a minute…you don’t hear of it often, but do you ever think about what it is to be “threshed”. Let me describe it for you.  This is how you thresh wheat: you lay it on the floor and pound it till the grain falls off, you then must gather that grain and grind it into a powder. Easiest way is to place it between two massive stones and spin the top stone till things come unglued and the wheat submits.

I can’t help but think about myself as a piece of grain when I read Matthew 3:12

His winnowing fork is in his hand, and he will clear his threshing floor and gather his wheat into the barn, but the chaff he will burn with unquenchable fire.

The fact that Jesus is clearing his wheat from the threshing floor means I have already been broken and bent to his will and the only thing that is left is the chaff. The image that comes to my mind is the Word grinding me from the top and the World grinding from below and Him coming in and picking up all the best parts of me and leaving the rest to be consumed. It’s painful to think about but necessary so that I can be made into a new creation; into something new and wholesome, healthy, worthy to be baked!

