Flirting

by Mrsethprice

I sometimes have to park far away from where I work, the days that I’m running late; that’s pretty much most days as I have a 2 year old, you know what I mean if you have children of your own. On those days I have to park in say… Massachusetts and walk to work. Well it’s not really that far but it’s far enough to be an inconvenience to me. Lord knows I’m not in the mood usually to walk 1 mile or so to work 4 out of 5 days but hey, that’s probably a First World type Problem and I probably shouldn’t be complaining about it.

Usually I forget to take my headphones and so I eavesdrop on the conversations of the people that are walking around me. You see there is quite the mass-migration to where I work as parking is limited in my block. Yesterday was no different. I had no headphones, it was burning up hot, I was in a hurry…the people in front of me however were not. They were blocking the whole sidewalk as they couldn’t seem to walk straight. This forced me to slow down (hate that) so while I was walking slowly I thought I would just observe. At first I thought they may just be drunk and that’s why they couldn’t seem to keep a straight line, then it hit me, they are flirting.

Slowly, methodically, rhythmically flirting. The way I did back in college when I met my wife. That reckless abandon, nerve-racking flirting. The kind where you are so careful not to seem to anxious but just anxious enough (you know what I mean). I watched as slowly they got closer and closer and then it happened…boom they were holding hands! The angels sung, the heavens parted, the weather dropped 19 degrees (none of that happened).

I couldn’t help but smile and reminisce of my yester-years. I thought of my wife and it was good, I thought of many things. Then I suddenly felt God. I felt like he was asking me how long we were gonna dance before we just moved past the flirting. How long would we do the dance…how long until you just let me hold your hand.

You see there are weeks that it’s easier than others, weeks where the embrace is Earthly and intense. Other weeks it’s just not that way, I just felt so convicted. I think too often we just flirt with Christ, constantly leaving the Creator wanting more. Wanting a fuller relationship.

I debated against writing of this…Christians in America aren’t supposed to struggle with God. At least that’s what people think. But I do and just wanted to be honest about it. Sometimes I feel distant but other times…yesterday, not so!

What about you?

Does this ever happen to you? Do you ever feel the same way?

