Best Christian Songs You’ve Never Heard Of

by Mrsethprice

Recently I stumbled upon a web app called Turntable.fm. This thing is amazing and it’s introduced me to music that I long since forgot existed. This has had a side-effect on me that I hadn’t expected; it has made me pour back through my older music collection and I have been blown away, which I spoke of recently.

Here is a small list I have compiled of some of the best songs you may have never heard of. I hope that you enjoy these songs as much as I do.

Six String Rocketeer by Daily Planet:

This song does multiple things.

  1. Has a great arrangement
  2. Talks about Sgt. Pepper and the Piano Man (can’t fail there!)
  3. Mixes that into a song about God as well

That’s some talent.

This is the best video I could find: 

PSA: This band no longer exists but its lead singer, Jesse Butterworth, leads worship at a church in Seattle and is amazing.

How Deep the Father’s Love for Us: Skillet

This song is a remake of a classic with a nice contemporary arrangement. Skillet’s front man sings it beautifully and it’s melody will stay with you all the day long. And really who doesn’t love an old hymn sung in a haunting and cool way? I know I do!

Skip to about 3:45 for the music if you want to skip his intro.

All My Fountains:  Chris Tomlin/Passion Band

This song has grown on me. A friend from church asked me about it and I had never really listened to it. It’s one of those songs that starts differently and I almost always skipped past it. DON’T DO THAT! Do not commit the foul that I did. Listen to it once a day for three days and I guarantee you will fall in love with it.

Live Forever by Drew Holcomb and the Neighboors

This song is just freaking awesome. It’s so laid back and the lyrics are just perfect when your in a easy going kind of mood. It takes me back to the days when music was more simple and less technology was involved in the making of it. Almost a Dylan(ish) flavor to it.

This is by no means a complete list. If there are songs I need to include that you just love let me know in the comments. Always glad to listen to new music!

