Scanning for God

by Mrsethprice

My wife and I recently spent our 5th anniversary in Chocolate Town, USA(Hershey, Pennsylvania for the non-Americans reading). We had a blast and I am blessed to have her. On the way home though she decided to try to nap on our almost four hour drive home. Trying to be the good husband I turned the audio down on the radio to a point that I could barely recognize the song (she’s a light sleeper).

BIG downside here though…I was driving along at “highway speeds” so I had to find a new station every 30 or so minutes, annoying. So it began….scan…scan…scan…oh that was a good song maybe the next one will be good too…static…sigh. SCAN!!!

What I was looking for was a Christian station and could never find one. I felt like the an Israelite wondering why God had not put up a station so that I could conveniently find Him every 29.5 miles. In short I was being selfish. Since we have been back home over this last week a thought has continually crept up in my mind.

Why was I scanning? He was already there. Why wasn’t I listening? Did I know what to listen for?

I think as Christians we are constantly looking for the forest (Christianity) and can’t see the Tree (God) when he is smack dab in front of us. It’s almost like He was saying, “Seth! Dude! Listen already”.

What I should have been doing was using that time to talk to God, to grow closer, or something…anything other than scanning.

I leave you with this from Peterson’s The Message:

Psalm 139:7-12

Is there anyplace I can go to avoid your Spirit? to be out of your sight?If I climb to the sky, you’re there! If I go underground, you’re there. If I flew on morning’s wings to the far western horizon, You’d find me in a minute-you’re already there waiting! Then I said to myself, “Oh, he even sees me in the dark! At night I’m immersed in the light!” It’s a fact: darkness isn’t dark to you; night and day, darkness and light, they’re all the same to you.

